Gluten is a protein found in all forms of wheat, barley and rye. A strict gluten-free diet means avoiding any amount of:
- Graham flour
- Spelt (a form of wheat)
To maintain a healthy lifestyle with Celiac Disease, you must read the ingredients on every product you eat to check for these things. Even trace amounts of gluten can cause a reaction, so you have to be very careful to avoid any cross-contamination.
These ingredients can be found in a lot of unexpected food products, so you have to be very diligent, but that doesn't mean you don't have options. There are lots of safe, gluten-free foods out there.
For more information, check out Celiac.ca!